Je voudrais visiter…

Last night I had a dream about being forced to visit some country in such short notice (for work, if I remember correctly). In the dream, I was still packing clothes an hour before my flight, which is suicide because the airport is very strict about checking in at least two hours before takeoff. I couldn’t remember what the place was, but in the dream I was panicking because I had no idea where to go and what to do there, other than working my ass off. And yeah, well, I wasn’t finished packing.

This was actually on a ship, but I couldn’t find a photo of myself in a plane

Now, the big European getaway–or Project Europe, as I like to call it–is still far from happening, and I’m more likely to be obsessive-compulsive about it as it nears, even though I’m not really the OC type. Well, it’s always good to avoid that panic-packing scenario. So okay, even if launch date is yet to be announced, I might as well zoom in on France first with a list of places I’d like to visit. Other than Paris, that is.

My dream destinations, in no particular order:

Bordeaux. Please believe me when I say I’m not really much of a wine person, but the prospect of seeing acres of vineyards sounds so exciting to me. It reminds me of that scene in The Parent Trap where Lindsay runs across her father’s vineyard in Napa Valley. Okay, weird. But I’ve always wanted to see a Musée des Beaux-Arts, which Bordeaux happens to have.

Toulouse. I’ve always been curious about La Ville Rose ever since a teacher told me the reason behind the nickname. Imagine how that would look at sundown. Plus, it’s a university town! That should be pretty interesting.

A bird’s eye view of Toulouse, from France.com

Normandy. Cider! Camembert! For those two products alone, I’d gladly see Normandy.

Lyon. Wikipedia says a visit in December would be wonderful because of Fêtes des Lumières (Festival of Lights), when people would light candles to celebrate the inauguration of the golden Virgin Mary statue. Another plus: another Musée des Beaux-Arts.

Marseille, or any other town in Provence. Provence got into my must-see list after I came across Apol Lejano-Massebieau’s Provenciana blog (now open to invited readers only as the blog is now in book form–ack, I need to buy this). I started looking for pictures of Provence and fell in love with images of lavender fields, tree-lined country roads, and ancient castles. I imagine it to be so rural and rustic but romantic, in a way. And then there’s bouillabaisse. Oh, God. I’m completely sold.

More of this for miles! Lovely, isn’t it? Photo by Lize Rixt

A little village somewhere in Provence. Very rustic and pretty. Photo by Jürgen Eixelsberger

La Camargue. I’ve never heard of this place until Philou tweeted me about it. It’s in Arles in Provence, but it seems so far off because it’s at the southern tip of the city and it’s surrounded by water. But then it’s home to 400 species of birds, particularly flamingos. I’ve always wanted to see flamingos, for some weird reason (um, actually it’s because they’re pink).

So, there they are, whew. I just hope I’ll be able to check them all off and say, “been there, done that!” when the time comes.

I’d love to get some more recommendations, though. So please, tell me–what else is there to see?

2 thoughts on “Je voudrais visiter…

  1. Near Bordeaux, you could visit “La dune du Pilat” (i let you look for it).
    And about Camargue, you should try to have a look at the traditions of this area and ask me then if you want more informations.

    For other places, i need to think… i know that “Le Mont Saint Michel” is famous too but i am not enough informed on that to be a good visit guide for an eventual trip (:

    • I saw pictures of La dune du Pilat and it looks amazing! Ok, adding that to the list.

      My teacher from Normandy told us a little bit about Le Mont St Michel, and I have pictures of it in my book. Maybe I’ll check it out if I end up in Normandy 🙂

Leave a Reply

