Now, we’re cooking.

Gnocchi Sardi: As Italian as I can get
Gnocchi Sardi: As Italian as I can get

I promised a friend some time ago that I would try cooking un plat français.

To be honest, I don’t know why I did. Je peux cuisiner, oui, but am I brave enough to go French? I’ve always had the impression that French cooking is un peu compliqué for me–I know, I can feel Julia Child hitting me on the head with her Mastering the Art of French Cooking. The hardbound edition, ha. I’ve always been confident about cooking Italian food because pasta is just so easy, but French is a different story.

I suppose that’s because I started wrong and dreamed of cooking boeuf bourguignon and coq au vin. After glancing at the recipe book and seeing how difficult they are and how long they take to cook, I let out a long sigh and stopped looking at everything else.

Now, the friend and I haven’t spoken in ages, but I’ve been obsessing about cooking lately. I think this is the longest cooking spell I’ve ever had–usually, I just sniff around and try to help when my dad’s cooking, but I’ve been messing around the kitchen since November with Italian dishes from this site. Looks like it’ll take a while, or at least, until the Serie A season is over.

Anyway, I’ve been looking for easy French recipes and I suppose I can try classic French Onion soup. The problem is, summer has started in the Philippines and it’s not so wise to go for something hot. My French students have been very helpful, suggesting tarte aux pommes and oeufs mimosa, but I rather like the idea of cooking couscous (I know it’s actually Algerian, but still). It looks a lot like rice to me and it’s easy to find in our local supermarche.

So, couscous it is. I’ll post pics here when I come up with a decent attempt.

If anyone wants to suggest something simple, that’ll be quite nice, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

