Winter Garden and not-so-winter gardens

First, a confession: I’ve stopped going to French school and now I’m sort of…addicted to Japanese culture and pop stars. It’s not that I’m not interested in France anymore, but at this point J-pop is more accessible. And let’s face it, it’s really addictive.

Anyway, that’s not the point. The fun part of this obsession is getting more opportunities to go out with friends, since I seem to have more Japanophiles (I’m not even sure about that term) at this age. So about two weeks ago, a friend and I went to Winter Garden, an exhibit about contemporary Japanese art.

DSC_0467

And that was where I fell in love with Keisuke Yamamoto’s art. I hope we’ll be able to find Tomio Koyama Gallery when we go to Japan next year.

DSC_0468

I want to show more photos of the gallery, but of course we weren’t allowed to take photos, so, no love. But anyway, things got interesting even before we got in, because we found a 500 peso bill on the sidewalk (and no one was around to claim it), under a tree we like to call “fake sakura”. So that took care of our museum entrance fee, two cab rides, and some takoyaki.

DSC_0363
Arigatou, fake sakura-san!

So now, my question is: what exactly is this tree? I’ve been trying to look for it, and it can’t possibly be the Palawan Cherry tree, which looks more sakura-like than this one. The closest it could possibly be is the Morning Glory bush on this site, but…it’s a bush.

I’m actually really stumped. Over a tree.

Look how lovely its blossom is.

IMG_20140301_165223

With all the flowering trees around, it feels like spring here, even if that’s not really the case on this side of the world. Or maybe we can just pretend for a little bit, before summer goes full blast.

Leave a Reply

