Ça commence!

it-boyFilm festival season in Manila, that is.

And it usually starts with the French Film Festival, which I finally get to attend this year. I’ve always wanted to go, but for some reason I keep missing it, either because I get wind of it when it’s already too late, or I have too much work. This year, PEP.ph asked me to write about it, so hurrah. I got advanced notice!

Good thing too, because I like this year’s lineup, which is a bit more lighthearted than usual.

I’ve already seen “It Boy” (“20 ans d’écart”) since it was the featured film on opening night two days ago. It was a lucky break for me because June 9th was a French holiday (yes, I love French holidays, yay) so I was able to go.

It’s your typical popcorn rom-com about a 38-year-old career woman and a young man barely out of university, but it was hilarious. And dammit, I think I have a new crush. I mean, just look at this guy.

pierreniney
Pierre Niney plays Balthazar, the young dude who might be the key to Alice’s promotion at Rebelle magazine. Look at those eyes, argh.

He also plays Yves Saint Laurent, which I need to see, too. Too bad it wasn’t included in the festival, but hopefully it’ll be there next year.

I’m very keen on watching “Quai d’Orsay” too, especially because it comes highly recommended. And it looks promising anyway.

quai-d-orsay

 

Then there’s “La Venus à la fourrure” (“Venus in Fur”), which seems to be the odd one out in this year’s lineup.

venus-in-fur

 

And then there’s also “Les beaux jours” (“Bright Days Ahead”), which stars Fanny Chesnel, who was really funny in “Paris Je T’aime”.

bright-days-ahead

 

I almost forgot, I’m also very curious about “L’Écume des jours” (“Mood Indigo”) because well, Michel Gondry’s always weird and a lot of fun. And I really, really like Romain Duris because he was fantastic in “L’Arnacoeur” and “Paris”. Ah, Audrey Tautou too, of course.

mood-indigo

Tomorrow, June 12, is Independence Day in my country, so they’re showing three Filipino films that have made it to the Cannes Film Festival: “Maynila sa mga Kuko ng Liwanag” (“Manila at the Claws of Light”)–real classic, this one; “On The Job”, which I saw last year, it was bloody fantastic; and “Norte: Hangganan ng Kasaysayan” (“Norte, the End of History”), which I haven’t seen yet.

Anyway, these and more will be shown at Greenbelt 3 until June 15, Sunday. Tickets are not for free anymore, but you have to pay just P100 for a screening. Allez!

One thought on “Ça commence!

Leave a Reply

