Congratulations! (I don’t know how to say this in German.)

Congratulations, Germany, for winning your fourth World Cup title!

© AFP
© AFP

I know I was stubborn about sticking up for sides that were eventually knocked out (Italy, Japan, Colombia…), but well, it wasn’t so hard to accept this one for Germany. They had it coming, after all.

Also, Manuel Neuer is a Nutella boy. That fact alone makes it all up for me.

At least it was nice to watch the World Cup without really rooting for anyone except for my fantasy team, which had players from Germany, the Netherlands, and Argentina. No pressure, all just good fun and junk food.

A and S stuffing themselves at half time
A and S stuffing themselves at half time

I was really begging anyone, any player, to finish the game before dawn because I was just so sleepy. I was barely holding on at extra time, and A finally gave up minutes before the Götze goal came and left (his place was just nearby). And then came the goal. And finally, relief, since it meant some shuteye.

I did have one takeaway, though: I got to take a shot of the dawn from my friend’s window.

Shots of Christ the Redeemer on TV were nicer, of course.
Shots of Christ the Redeemer on TV were nicer, of course.

That was a nice ending. Now, on to 2018! As usual, I’m hoping that the Azzurri does much, much better.

Leave a Reply

